Week 19–Jan 5

Happy New Year, everyone! I hope that you all had a wonderful Christmas and a Happy New Year!

As we look forward to 3rd Quarter (and 3rd Quarter Book Talks), I’ve decided to give you an option. πŸ™‚ In general, the majority of you will be reading Ethan Frome and answering those discussion questions that I gave you before Christmas. However, over the break, I read a novel that blew me away, and I wanted to give you the option to read that instead if you’re interested. You’ve probably heard about the novel Unbroken, which is a novel by Laura Hillenbrand that tells the story of Olympic runner turned airman turned castaway turned POW Louie Zamperini. The movie was released on Christmas. If any of you would rather read Unbroken (either the original version or the new version that was created specifically for young adults) instead of Ethan Frome, then I’ll allow you to do that. It’s a longer book, but I read the original book in about 3 days–it’s pretty gripping and was a pretty fast read for me. You MUST read the book and answer the discussion questions that I can give you, though, and not just see the movie. The movie leaves out quite a bit, especially about Louie’s life after being a POW, and that’s an important part of the reason I’d like to encourage some of you to consider reading this novel. We’ll talk about it a bit in class next week, too. πŸ™‚

English 10/English 10 Honors
For the next couple of weeks, we’ll be focusing on Walt Whitman and Emily Dickinson. After that, we’ll move on to Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. You’ll be doing the reading for Huck Finn out of class, so you might want to get started on that before we’re actually discussing it, but I’ll give you more info about that next week. πŸ™‚

Psychology
Welcome, new Psychology students! We’ll be getting started with an overview of Psychology and with a brief history of the field. πŸ™‚ I look forward to getting to know you all!

We’ve still got a few days before classes start back again. Enjoy the rest of your break! I’ll see you bright and early on Monday morning! πŸ™‚

