Summer Reading Check-in–How’s it going?

Hello, Sophomores! I wanted to check in with you about your summer reading. Have you started? Are you doing your dialectical journals? (Check the previous post if you don’t know what that is!)

I’m on Chapter 9 of The Scarlet Letter. While I was at the beach last week, I got sidetracked by a couple of other novels (In Cold Blood, Catcher in the Rye, The Junction of Sunshine and Lucky) that you may see this year for Literary Circles/Book Talks, but I’m back to Hester Prynne now.

As you read about Hester’s story, imagine being in her shoes. Imagine having to stand on stage in front of everyone in your community (for 3 hours) and having to wear a big red letter that highlighted your greatest sin. How do you think you would handle that? Also, make sure that you pay attention to the chapter titles, as there are often big clues there. Chapter 9, for example, is titled “The Leech” and it opens by discussing Roger¬†Chillingworth. Hmmm…what does that suggest about Roger’s character or his actions? Keep an eye out for clues like that as you read.

Happy reading! If you have any problems or questions, feel free to email me at my school email. Make sure that you’re emailing from your family email, though, because I can’t respond to students’ personal emails.

