Summer Reading Check and Background Info for Scarlet Letter

Hello, all! How is your summer reading coming? I’m almost done with Chapter 15, so I’m 2/3s of the way through the novel. I’m reading a couple of other books, too, so I’m trying to balance a more focused read (The Scarlet Letter) with an easier “fun” read (The Uglies, for example). I find that’s a good way to keep myself focused. The Scarlet Letter is dense, but if you can get past the language, you’ll see that the story itself is just like stories you might see in any drama today.

I thought that it might be helpful for you to have some background on the Romanticism period (which is when this novel was written), Puritan life, and Nathaniel Hawthorne himself, and I wanted to give you some things to think about as you’re reading. I created a Prezi presentation to share this information with you. Click on the link below to view this presentation.

Scarlet Letter Background and Introduction Prezi

Let me know if you have any problems with that! Happy Reading!

