2015-16 Week 13 – Nov 9

Hello all! I’m putting the Weekly Update up early this week because I’ll be away with the Youth Judicial team this weekend and I won’t be at school on Monday. Never fear–you’ll have an awesome substitute teacher on Monday to take my place. 🙂 I’m also going to be out starting on Friday, Nov 13 through Thanksgiving (I think). I’m having surgery on my right Achilles on Friday, and it’ll take me a week or two to be able to get around on one foot. Again, I’ve got another awesome substitute to take my place while I’m out, and I’ve got some other plans to keep you engaged and learning. 🙂

We’re going to make use of the technology that we’re so blessed to have here at MCPS. This week, I’ll get each of you set up in my Google Classroom and on my new Google site. You’ll have access to assignments for Huck Finn, and I’ll be able to keep up with your projects, etc. You’ll be turning some things in digitally that we’ve been doing on paper–articles of the week and reading quizzes, for example. Starting this week, you’ll be reading Adventures of Huck Finn and working on your study guides. You’ll also be working on a Vocabulary project and on your Huck Finn Multigenre project. We’ll talk about all of these on Tuesday.

If any of you (or your parents) are concerned about how our class will work during this time while I’m away, please feel free to come and see me during tutorials. I’m happy to talk through my plan with any of you. 🙂

Now, let’s look at this week’s schedule:

  • Monday
    • In-class essay #4
    • Homework: Read Ch 1-3 in Huck Finn
  • Tuesday
    • REG ENGLISH: Lit Circle #2 due by end of last period at 2:40.
    • Get set up in Google Classroom and on my blog
    • Discuss Huck Finn project and assignments
    • Homework: read Ch 4-7
  • Wednesday
    • NO SCHOOL–Veterans Day
      • Thank you to all who have served!
  • Thursday
    • Reading Quiz Chapters 1-7
    • Work on setting up your Google sites
    • Homework: Read Ch 8-11
  • Friday
    • Article of the Week due (online–Google Classroom)
    • Vocab Check Ch 1-14 (online–Google Classroom)
    • Homework: Read Ch 12-15

Let’s have a great week!

Edited to add–I got so focused on telling you my plan for MY stuff that I forgot something really important!! Super cheers and congrats for our Girls Cross Country team who brought home a gold in Sectionals and qualified for State! Our boys did well, too, but fell just short of qualifying.

I also want to give a cheer for William Hooper, who was recognized as Player of the Week last week by the Quarterback Club and who will be honored by that group on Nov 10.

Exciting news this week–it’s great to be a Knight!

