Following the Call

Good afternoon! I’ll be back in a little bit, but I wanted to share something with you all this afternoon first. One of the themes of several conversations that I’ve had lately with students centers around the idea of answering calls. Some are discerning vocations, but others–most, really–are trying to figure out how to be true to their faith but still to be cool. Nobody wants to stand out as being weird, I guess. ๐Ÿ™‚ ย I get that–I remember what it was like to be a teenager–even though it was a LONNNNGGGG time ago for me. ๐Ÿ™‚

At any rate, this morning at mass, we sang “The Summons” and it reminded me of these conversations. ย Here’s the song (video format with lyrics!):

Some of you have said that you’d like to take mass more seriously and participate and sing, but that some of your classmates make fun of you or are being silly. I think you’d be surprised how many are feeling the same pull–the same call to be involved and engaged. I think that if you took a risk and went all in that you’d be surprised by just how many people feel the same way that you do. I think that if you took the risk and went to mass looking for connections–just as I’m always harping at you about in English class–instead of waiting to be filled up that you might find it much easier to feel the Holy Spirit at mass, both at school and at your home church on the weekends. This is true for Catholics and non-Catholics. ๐Ÿ™‚

We have the spectacular opportunity, unusual in this country in this time, to be open about our faith and our love for God. Don’t let fear of what others will think about you get in the way of participating in this and getting some grace to get you through the day. As we enter Lent, I’d like to challenge you to find some way during this Lent season to step up the practice of your faith. How can you use these 40 days to grow closer to God? If you need some ideas, come and chat with me–I’ve got bunches! ๐Ÿ™‚

