2015-16 Week 31 — April 4

Hello, my beautiful people! Are you all feeling relaxed and energized after your Easter Break? I’ve missed you and I’ve got lots planned for you for the rest of the year (fun stuff, mostly, I think!). There are only 7 more weeks of school plus 1 week of Finals, so we’ve got to get down to the nitty gritty and get things done!

With that in mind, please make sure that you are checking your grades in PowerSchool and keeping on top of things. I haven’t graded your tests from before Break because I was out of town and on break as well, but I’ll get them graded and added to PowerSchool by the end of the week. It’s very important that you keep up with everything now because we’ve got lots of work to do between now and the end of the semester. I don’t want you to fall behind and risk ending up in Summer School.

Before I go on to talk about this week, I want to take a minute to ask for your prayers. Some of you may have heard already, but Mrs. Sinclair’s husband has been very sick and in the hospital all week. Please keep them in your prayers.

Now, on to this week:

  • Monday, April 4
    • Great Gatsby movie
  • Tuesday, April 5
    • Great Gatsby movie
  • Wednesday, April 6
    • Great Gatsby movie
  • Thursday, April 7
    • Great Gatsby movie
    • Essay #7 Final Draft due on Turnitin.com by 9pm!
  • Friday, April 8
    • Life in Elizabethan England assignment
    • Article of the Week due (in Google Classroom)
    • Essay #7 Final Draft due IN CLASS (printed with rough draft attached)

Since we’re so close to the end of the year, I’m going to give you a list of upcoming due dates and deadlines. Some of these assignments are things that you don’t know about yet (the ones that are starred), but I want them to be on your radar.

  • Thursday, April 7–Essay #7 Final Draft due on Turnitin
  • Friday, April 8–Essay #7 Final Draft due
  • Friday, April 8–AotW
  • Friday, April 14–AotW
  • Monday, April 18–Life in Elizabethan England presentations*
  • Friday, April 22–Mid-Quarter
  • Friday, April 22–DGP test
  • Monday, April 25–REG ENG–should be finished reading Lit Circle books
  • Friday, April 29–AotW
  • Monday, May 2–REG ENG–Lit Cir Session 2 videos due
  • Monday, May 2–HON ENG–should be finished reading Lit Circle books
  • Wednesday, May 4–Julius Caesar Acts 1&2 videos recorded (in class)
  • Wednesday, May 4–Matchbook Project Check-in*
  • Friday, May 6–AotW (last AotW for the year!)
  • Monday, May 9–HON ENG–Lit Cir Session 2 videos due
  • Tuesday, May 10–Julius Caesar Act 3 videos recorded (in class)
  • Friday, May 13–Julius Caesar Matchbook Projects due*
  • Monday, May 16–REG and HON ENG–Lit Letters for Lit Circle novels due
  • Wednesday, May 18 and Thursday, May 19–Julius Caesar test
  • Tuesday, May 24-Friday, May 27–Finals Week

Here is a handy version that you can print out.

That might look like a lot, but those are all of the major assignments for the rest of the semester. There will be some daily and quiz grades thrown in, most likely, but these are the big things to keep on your calendar.

My best advice for you at this point in the semester is to make sure that you keep up with your schedule. You’ve got about a month before the Lit Circle books are due, and the workload for my class will be fairly light for the next two weeks. If I were you, I’d push my group members to knock out the rest of those books and go ahead and record those videos in these next two weeks. You can go ahead and write your Lit Letters once you finish your books, too. That’ll take a couple of things off your plate.

We’re focusing on Julius Caesar for the rest of the year. It’s not a long play, but I’ve spaced it out over the next 7 weeks to give us time to go slowly with it. When we get into the novel, you’ll have reading homework just about every night. I want you to read over those parts of the play so that you can be ready for class discussion the next day. Since this is a play, we’ll be doing lots of reading out loud and we’ll act some of the scenes out. That will only work well if you guys have a basic idea of what’s going on and aren’t looking at things for the first time in class that day. I’m going to give you a link to online versions of the play, so you won’t need to purchase a book for that, but I’d also suggest that you look on YouTube and find versions of the play being read or acted out. Shakespeare is much easier to understand when you hear it, so listen to the words as you follow along. Don’t be intimidated. Shakespeare isn’t really all that fancy–I think you’ll come to recognize several sayings that we still use today. 🙂

Ok–enough from me! Go out and enjoy this last beautiful evening of Easter Break! I’m heading to mass with my family, so maybe I’ll see some of you there! Otherwise, I’ll see you bright and early in the morning! 🙂

