Words to Remember as you Prepare for Finals

As you prepare for Finals week, please remember that you are not the results of these tests or even the results of your performance in mine or any other class this year.

It is my fervent hope that you approach Finals Week feeling nervous but prepared to demonstrate what you’ve learned this year and that, when those exams start next week, you’ll take a deep breath and do just that. Some of you have worked hard this year, and I hope that you’re able to demonstrate what you’ve learned next week. Some of you have made other choices this year, and I hope that you’re seeing the error of those choices and resolving to make changes moving forward.

Either way–good grades or bad grades, flying through the exam or sweating through every question–you are more than the final number that goes into PowerSchool. I’ve seen you all grow and mature and learn and change. I’ve laughed with you and cried with you–luckily more laughing than crying. I’ve been proud of you, I’ve been frustrated by you, I’ve been scared for you, and I’ve prayed for you–oh, how I’ve prayed.

Regardless of what the final number says about you and regardless of whether you see the full truth of this statement at this moment, you are a beautiful child of God and you were beautifully and wonderfully made. You will do great things some day–some in big huge public ways and some in quiet understated private ways. You all have the capacity, the capability, the opportunity to do wonderful things, and I’m so proud of you and so excited to be with you for another year of adventures in Room 12.

I love you, Sophomore class. Thank you for a wonderful year. ❤️

