What I’m Reading 6/13/16

I’m back and I’m writing from the beautiful Jekyll Island in Georgia. It’s one of my favorite places! I hope summer is going well for y’all. (I also hope you’ve started on summer reading–don’t forget that you can email me with questions or for suggestions or just to say hi.) I’m here at Jekyll all week so I’m hoping for lots of family time and lots of reading time. 😊

So here’s what I’m reading this week–

image

I finished Winger the other night and I loved it. The story was engaging and it was a fast read. The main character is a 14 yr old boy–Ryan Dean West (and Ryan Dean is his first name)–who’s at a private boarding high school on the Pacific Ocean. He’s two years ahead in school, so instead of being with the freshmen he’s with the juniors. Tired of being a nerd and a weakling, he went out for the rugby team (because he’s fast–otherwise they’d kill him!), but he also intentionally got into trouble at the end of Soph yr, landing him in the separate dorm for kids who had discipline problems. So here’s the smart skinny guy suddenly surrounded by the guys (O-Hall is just guys right now because there aren’t any girls in trouble at this point in the year) who have been separated out because they’re bullies or fighters. Oh, and he’s also in love with his best friend, the beautiful and unattainable Annie. It’s a funny story that adds a twist at the end. I really enjoyed it. 😊

Then I picked up Seven Ways We Lie by Riley Redgate.

image

This is about 7 students who are all dealing with their own separate (but sometimes interwoven) issues and problems. Then a scandal breaks out and it stirs everything up. I’m not quite halfway through yet (pg 125 of 343), but it’s good so far. Each chapter is written from the point of view of one of the 7, so it’s interesting to see the different perspectives. They all “sound” different when you’re reading the different chapters, too, so it’s not as confusing. There’s an element of mystery to this one, and I’m enjoying it so far.

Then tonght as we were going down to the beach, I asked Maggie to grab my book and she grabbed the wrong one. No biggie–I started that one instead of sending her back (because that wouldn’t be cool!). So now I’m also reading Twisted by Laurie Halse Anderson.

image

Yep, she’s the same one who wrote Speak that so many of you liked. I think you’d like this one, too. This one has a boy (Tyler) as the main character, and he got into trouble at the end of Jr year because he was tired of being boring and vanilla and invisible. Several cans of spray paint and the front of the school later, he felt exhilarated–except he dropped his wallet. So instead of chilling the summer before Sr year, he spent the summer “volunteering” (or community service) with the school maintenance dept and also working for a landscape company. All of that hard labor and a growth spurt (plus maybe a bit of a bad boy/is he crazy reputation) has made him anything but invisible. I’m not very far into this one (pg 66 of 250), but I can tell I’m going to like this one, too. I just like the way Anderson writes, I think. Tyler is on a journey, too. He’s had this moment (dumb and I’ll-advised and illegal as it was) where he made a choice to do something different than he had been doing, and now he’s trying to figure out what that means in a day to day (and not illegal) way.

Now I’m torn between which one I’ll finish first. I’ll probably just kept switching between the two because I don’t want to let go of either story right now. 😊

What are you reading?

Happy Summer!! ❤️ I love y’all and I miss you!

