What I’m Reading 6/20/16

Well, I’m (sadly!) home from Jekyll. That place is amazing–it is quiet and refreshing, and I wish I could stay forever! 😊 BUT–I’m excited for this week, too. This week I drive to Auburn every day (which might be tough for this UGA fan–Go Dawgs!) to take the AP Language training class. I’m hoping to get some great ideas to use with my AP folks this year. 😊

So what am I reading this week?

 

image

First, let me tell you that Seven Ways We Lie finished just as strong as it started. I really enjoyed it. It was interesting to see how everything was intertwined and how much misinterpretation and misconception can mess things up. Great book!

I also finished Twisted, by Laurie Halse Anderson.

image

Another great book, just as I expected from Anderson. I love seeing how Tyler grows in this book. If you liked Speak, you’d definitely like this, even though it’s about a boy and about different issues.

Next up, I picked up Stupid Fast by Geoff Herbach.

image

This was another good one (I know! I keep saying that! I’ve been lucky so far this summer, though, and have really liked everything that I have read!). This one is about a boy (Felton) who has just hit puberty and had a monster growth spurt. All of a sudden, he has discovered that he can run–and not just run, but that he’s “Stupid Fast.” I picked this one up for my guys because I thought you might enjoy a good sports story, but it’s so much more than that. It’s an easy read (difficulty-wise), but Felton takes the reader on a journey that’s so much more than a “sports story.” This one surprised me in a good way. I think some of you will really like it.

This next one blew me away–Crank by Ellen Hopkins.

image

Good gravy. You guys…this one blew me away. First of all, I’ve never read anything like it. It’s a novel, but written in verse-form (yes, poems), all 535 pages. The poetry is tangible and readable, though, and it really tells a story. I read this book in about a day because I really didn’t want to put it down. Just like some of the others I’ve read this summer, it shares a character on a journey (hmmm…seeing a theme?? πŸ˜‰πŸ˜Š), but, oh man, this is no journey that you want to go on. The main character (Kristina, though she goes on to call herself Bree later) goes from a normal, smart, nerdy kid to a girl addicted to meth–all in the matter of months and all detailed in these poems. It is breathtaking and powerful and scary–so scary. This is one that I’ll come back to again and again, I think.

Next I’m going to lighten up and read Dumplin‘ by Julie Murphy.

image

I don’t know if it really will be light, but anything would be after Crank! More on Dumplin‘ soon!

I hope you’re all working on summer reading! I’ll still be checking emails, so reach out if you have questions or just want to say hi! 😊❀️

