What I’m Reading 6/27/16

Another week of fun adventures and another week of reading! I hope that you’re all working on your summer reading!

Here’s what I’ve been reading this past week:

Dumplin‘ by Julie Murphy

image

 

I love this book, and I love Willowdean. I’ve known what it feels like to feel as if you really know who you are and what you feel and then have it all spun around on you, leaving you with more questions than you started with. I love the journey that she takes in this book as she tries to figure things out again.

Next up was The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu.

image

You know how the rumor mill churns and churns and churns? And how people get churned up–and chewed up–in that process? That’s the story here. Everybody thought they knew the truth about what happened to Alice Franklin at a high school party. The novel is told in a series of perspectives, with different characters picking up different pieces of the story. What did they really know about that night? Another great book!

After The Truth About Alice, I wanted something a bit lighter. This time I picked Todd Strasser’s The Wave.

image

This is a short novel that is based on a real event. It’s set in 1969 in a History classroom. After sharing a short video about the Holocaust, the teacher decides to run a little experiment so that his students will better understand what happened. The problem is that it worked too well. This is a fast read and made it easier to connect to Hitler’s Germany.

image

Similar to The Truth About Alice, What We Say by Aaron Hartzler examines the difference between what we think we know and what really happened. This novel deals with the aftermath of a high school party and the devastating effects for all involved. It’s a powerful novel that moved fast and grabbed me from the first moments.

image

I’m just at the beginning of We Were Liars by E. Lockhart, but it’s good so far. It’s about a family that owns a private island with several summer houses. It’s described as a “modern, sophisticated suspense novel” and is a National Book Award finalist. I’ll fill you in once I’ve finished it, but it has started well. 😊

Enough from me! I hope that you’ve been enjoying your summer (and that you’re working on your Summer Reading!). Don’t forget to look for the Signposts (more info here, if you need it!) as you read! You’ll need that when school starts back!

Mrs. Turner

