Tools to help you with Summer Reading Signposts

Hi again, everyone! You’re probably all preparing to celebrate the 4th of July, so be careful! 🙂

Before you start celebrating, I wanted to share a neat tool to help you with marking your signposts for Summer Reading. Just in case you need a refresher, you can re-read the info about the Signposts here.

As you (should) know, as part of your Summer Reading this year, you should be marking and keeping track of Signposts. That shouldn’t take a ton of extra time–maybe 2 or 3 minutes at the end of each reading session. To help you with this, I found these cool labels. (Well, I think they’re cool, but I’m a nerd. Ha! 🙂 )

NandN-fictionNandN-nonfiction

As you are going through your reading, all you have to do is highlight the Signposts. Then it’ll be super fast to go back and just catalog the things that you marked! A teacher created these labels and shared the files. You can go here to get the files for the fiction signposts and here to get the files for the non-fiction signposts. (I haven’t introduced the non-fiction signposts to you yet, but we’ll be using them this year for Articles of the Week and AP Language will be using them extensively.) I’ll have some of the labels printed for you (you’ll have to supply the highlighters) to use once school starts, but I wanted to share now in case you want to go ahead and practice using them.

Some of you may have picked up on the fact that these signposts are really names for some of the literary and rhetorical devices, so as you’re working with them, see if you can see which devices might fall under each category. We’ll be talking about that once school starts back.

Have a great 2nd month of summer. It’s hard to believe that we’re halfway through–I’m a little in denial about it. 🙂 I hope you’re all doing well and making good choices. I miss you! 🙂 ❤

One response

  1. Pingback: AP Lang & Comp–clarification of summer reading | mrsturnerblog

Comments are closed.