What I’m Reading 7/5/16

I hope that you all had a happy fourth of July! I’ve been busy getting ready for surgery this week, so I’m a little behind posting my weekly what I’m reading post. Here it is now, though. 🙂

We Were Liars by e. lockhart image

This book started off a little slow for me, honestly. I kept with it, though, and the end had a big twist that I wasn’t even close to prepared for. I’m glad I stuck with it–that twist made it worthwhile. 🙂

Stotan! by Chris Crutcher

image

This  is a book that I have read several times. I was first assigned to read it in graduate school in my young adult lit class. For those of you who read Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes last year, you know that Chris Crutcher packs a powerful punch in a fairly short story. This book is no different. This one is about a group of swimmers,  and it is full of touching moments, lots of laughs, and the story that will grab your heart. This is one of my favorite books, and I hope a few of you will take a look at it.

Liar by Justine Larbalestier

image.jpeg

I was at the public library with my kids, and this bug yelled out from the shelves at me. I was caught by the simple title, and I wondered what it would be about. I’m about a third of the way through so far, and it’s about a girl who has a habit  of lying – lying about little things and lying about big things. As a reader, this is an interesting book because you never know if you can trust the narrator – if she’s telling you the truth or if it is yet another lie. we’ll see how this one goes. It’s pretty engaging so far.

I hope that you guys have a great weekend. I’ve got another post to share with you that will feature both a cool tool for your reading and also a great article that you might want to share with some friends.  Keep up your summer reading – we are a little over a month away from the first day of school! Love you all!

