What I’m Reading 7/11/16

I made it through surgery! Yay! Thanks for your prayers. Now I’m just hobbling around–I’ll get a real cast on Wednesday and then I’ll be set. 😊

Heres what I’ve been reading:

Liar by Justine Larbalestier

image

This one was interesting. It’s about a girl who lies compulsively, so you never know if you can trust what she’s saying. It’s the ultimate unreliable narrator (remember our discussion in class about Nick being an unreliable narrator in Gatsby?) experience. It was a good story, though.

Next up I read I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson.

image

 

This novel is getting a lot of talk as being supportive about LGBT issues, but the story is bigger than that. It’s an interesting novel that changes perspectives between twin brother and sister. He tells the story moving forward and she’s telling her version at the end looking backwards. Miscommunication and assumptions lead to conflict and confusion (as usual!), but the story is told in an interesting way. The two main characters–brother and sister–are both artistic, so this is a walk in the artistic mind, too.

I’ve just started Runner by Carl Deuker.

image.jpeg

Pain meds have meant more sleeping and less reading, so I’m not too far into this one yet. I’ll update you about how it was next week once I finish. 😊

I hope you’re all having a great summer and making good choices! I miss you all! ❀️ Mrs. Turner

